Did you submit a Social Security number application for your child at the U.S. Embassy in Seoul, Korea? Please see below for the answers to some of the questions we receive most frequently to better understand the Social Security number (SSN) application process.

SSA
Q: Will my child’s SSN application be processed at the U.S. Embassy in Seoul, Korea?

No, the U.S. Embassy in Seoul is not a Social Security claims-processing post. Once we have received a Social Security application, we will then forward it to the Social Security Administration (SSA) office in Manila for processing.

Q: How long will it take to process a Social Security card and where will it be mailed?

A: It may take 3-6 months or longer for applicants to receive an actual Social Security card from the SSA office. When a Social Security number (SSN) is assigned to the applicant, a SSN card will be mailed directly to the address provided on the SSN application.

Q: Can the U.S. Embassy check the status of my child’s application?

A: No, once we have forwarded SSN applications to the SSA office in Manila, we have no access to SSN application records. If you wish to check the status of your child’s application, we suggest you wait about 3 months from the date you submitted the application and then directly contact the SSA office in Manila to inquire about the SSN application status. Their contact information is below:

Social Security Administration
1201 Roxas Boulevard
Ermita, 0930 Manila
Philippines

Email: FBU.Manila@ssa.gov
Phone Number: (63)(2)301-2000

Q: I know I must wait about 3-6 months to receive a SSN card. However, is there any way for me to know the SSN before the card is mailed to us? If so, how long does it take for us to be allocated a SSN and whom should we contact to find out the assigned number?

A: In general, it will take about 2-3 months for the Social Security Administration (SSA) office to allocate an SSN to an individual. If it has been more than 3 months, you may directly contact the SSA office to find out the assigned SSN number.

Q: I’ve already contacted the Social Security office to inquire about the Social Security number (SSN) assigned to my child and was told that they sent my child’s SSN information to the U.S. Embassy in Seoul. Where should I contact to find out my child’s SSN?

A: Please send an email to SeoulinfoACS@state.gov with your child’s full name and date of birth. We will check our records and reply to you with further instructions. If your child’s SSN has been forwarded to our office, you will have to make a personal appearance here to retrieve the number as it is not possible to send it via telephone, fax or email due to security and privacy considerations.

2 responses to “Did you submit a Social Security number application for your child at the U.S. Embassy in Seoul, Korea? Please see below for the answers to some of the questions we receive most frequently to better understand the Social Security number (SSN) application process.

  1. I had requested SSN card as part of the permanent resident visa application process for my child. According to SSA website, I should have recieved the card within 3 weeks after my child entered the US with the visa issued at US embassy in seoul. It has been 1 month now. What should I do? My child needs her SSN to apply for her colleges and financial aids very soon. Time is running out. Please advise.

    Would it be faster if I apply for SSN card for my child at the SSA office in Manila? If it is, I’ll leave for Manila as soon as I can get a flight ticket. Could you please kindly contact Manila office to look into my child’s case?

    My child’s visa had been approved and she had entered the US at Sanfrancisco airport on Dec 25,2014. The visa packet was submitted to the Immigration office at the airport. The Department of State should have my child’s case with them now. And before leaving for the US, I’d paid USCIS fee for her as instructed. I had done everything that needed to be done on my part. Due to the college and financial aid application date line, my child can’t afford to wait for another 3 months for her SSN to arrive. Please help us.

    • Thank you for your inquiry. If your daughter is in the U.S., she needs to contact a Social Security office http://ssa.gov/agency/contact/ in the state where she currently resides. The Social Security Administration (SSA) office in Manila is responsible for administering Social Security matters for those who are physically in Asia, including Korea. If your daughter is in Korea, please directly contact the SSA office in Manila for assistance.
      Thank you.

Leave a Reply

