Can I get fingerprints and FBI background check apostille service at the Embassy?

FBI Police: Emblem http://www.flickr.com/photos/28567825@N03/3413984703

Q:  I’m a U.S. citizen in Korea and I was just informed that I need to get an FBI background check for employment in Korea.  For the background check I also need to get my fingerprints taken.  Can I get my background check and fingerprints done at the Embassy, and can I get the background check apostilled at the Embassy? 

A:  Unfortunately the Embassy cannot assist you with a criminal background check.  The Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (http://www.fbi.gov) centralizes criminal justice information and provides accurate and timely information and services to local, state, federal, and international law enforcement agencies, the private sector, academia, and other government agencies.  You can get a copy of your own FBI record by submitting a written request to the CJIS.

The Korean National Police Agency informed the Embassy on February 11, 2009, that any police station in Korea should be able to provide fingerprint services.  Please call your local police station to verify hours and procedures.  You may have to go to another police station if your local police station does not have the necessary equipment or staffing.

An apostille is a certificate which verifies and confirms the seal and signature of the person who authenticated the document. Documents issued by federal agencies such as the Federal background check conducted by the FBI must receive a seal from that agency, and then an apostille from the U.S. Department of State’s Office of Authentications (http://www.state.gov).

2 responses to “Can I get fingerprints and FBI background check apostille service at the Embassy?

  1. Pingback: Pre-emptive law enforcement is as bad as ex post facto, and laws requiring businesses to collect data on customers is violation of rights « Trutherator's Weblog

  2. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this blog.
    I’m hoping the same high-grade web site post from you in the upcoming also. In fact your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own site now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a good example of it.

Leave a Reply

