I LOST MY PASSPORT! And I have to travel for an emergency!

ppt_If you lost your passport and must travel for an emergency (e.g., medical emergency, death in family), the Embassy can issue a temporary passport for the purpose of emergency travel only.  You must appear at the Embassy in person and bring documentation of the emergency situation and your travel itinerary/plane ticket.  Moreover, you should fill out the online passport application using the “Passport Wizard” (https://pptform.state.gov/) and the DS-64 (statement regarding a lost or stolen passport) and bring them to the Embassy along with a photo I.D., proof of U.S. citizenship, proof of identity, passport photo, and fee ($135 for adults, $105 for children).  Please schedule an appointment on the Embassy’s appointment page:  http://seoul.usEmbassy.gov/acs_appt.html

If your passport was LOST or STOLEN—but you are NOT traveling for an emergency—then you must fill out the online passport application using the “Passport Wizard” and the DS-64 (statement regarding a lost or stolen passport) and bring them to the Embassy along with a photo I.D., proof of U.S. citizenship, proof of identity, passport photo, and fee ($135 for adults, $105 for children).  If your passport was stolen, please file a police report and bring a copy of the report with you.  A personal appearance is required, so schedule an appointment on the Embassy’s appointment page. You can get a new passport in 2 to 3 weeks.  For more information see: http://seoul.usEmbassy.gov/acs_lost_passport.html

2 responses to “I LOST MY PASSPORT! And I have to travel for an emergency!

  1. Hi,

    I have a flight booked to the states for May 1, but I can’t find my passport. I had never even misplaced it in seven years … and now it’s just gone. I discovered it missing last night as I moved out of my apartment.

    I heard processing time is about two weeks from a person-to-person appointment. But the next available slot is on Wednesday 23 (which I booked).

    Is there anyway to expedite the process?

    Please help!

    • Thank you for your inquiry. When visiting our office for your scheduled interview appointment on April 23, you may relay your urgency to the interviewing officer who will determine the necessity of issuing a limited validity passport to meet your departure date. Please bring a travel itinerary in addition to the online passport application and supporting documents and fee listed on our website.
      Thank you.

Leave a Reply

